Was it all a dream?

Well, I have to say that I am still processing it all. Did I just run across the country? Walking back into my home in Maine yesterday, I had the distinct feeling that it had all been a dream, as if none of it had ever happened. I am still trying to process it all and give everything the proper time and quality of reflection, but I think it might take a while yet. My brain and legs are all confused. They started to straighten themselves out today but to be honest I am super tired right now and I don’t think I could write the right blog post to attend to all the enormous feelings and thoughts you experience after a run across the country.

But sometimes life moves too fast for you to just slow down and catch up on your feelings, so I’m going to at least post some notes on today and yesterday. I also want to say that throughout this journey I have come to so enjoy writing and staying connected to everyone through this blog, that I definitely plan on continuing to write. Nobody has to continue reading but hey, the blog will be here. I sat down today and printed out all of the posts and started typing up my journal entries as well, step one of starting to work on getting this book written. I will keep everyone in the loop about that!

Anyway, a quick update. Today I went out running and while it was definitely a bit awkward without my stroller at first, I felt like I was flying. Ran 9 1/2 this morning and 7 1/2 this afternoon, running 8 minute miles, which felt like lightning to me after 10 or 11 minute miles with the stroller. Forgot how powerful it can make you feel to run fast!

Tomorrow I have an interview with the Huffington Post in the morning, which I’m pretty excited and nervous about. I also forgot to post links to the finish-line interviews in Charleston with Channels 4 and 5.
Here is the first one, still waiting on the other one :

http://www.abcnews4.com/story/14596318/woman-runs-cross-country-for-boys-and-girls-club

OK, time for bed. Again, apologies for no official “How do I feel now that I’ve completed this journey across the US?” post yet … all in due time, I promise.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

10 thoughts on “Was it all a dream?”

  1. Zoe! congratulations!! I’m so proud of you and so happy you made it. What an accomplishment! I wish you the best, and I hope you continue to bless those around you. Keep in touch!

    Anthony Logan
    Jax bicycle center
    Huntington Beach, Ca

    1. Thank you Anthony!! Can’t believe 4 months have gone by since that cloudy morning on the Pier in HB!! Thank you for starting the journey with me, it really meant a lot to me that you actually came out to run that morning : )

  2. Of course it was a dream …a dream come true !

    Para un corredor del campo a traves …..Un Sueno viene verdad !!

    Dream , Run and Live On , Dad xoxo

  3. Dear Zoe,

    Congratulations on your incredible success!

    I sit in awe thinking of you and what you’ve accomplished. You are my hero.

    Looking forward to seeing you this weekend.

    Love – UM

  4. Zoe- I don’t know you….. & you don’t know me, but I started following your blog after seeing the big sign on what I can only assume is your parent’s front lawn. I drive past their house on my way to & from work each day & one day slowed down enough to read the sign. Congratulations to you- what an adventure you have had; and congratulations to your parents for raising a child with a great sense of Joie de vivre!!! Welcome home & I look forward to reading about your next adventure! Mary

  5. Z,
    I’m taking my break, and I felt this strange void in my day. Hopped on the computer and realized I wanted to see if you had written anything on your blog in the past few days…lucky for me you have. Keep blogging away because you do have quite a gift. Your words capture both time and place perfectly…You are on your way to great things. Hope I can be there to witness them all.
    Love,
    G unit

  6. well said g and d.
    z, while i am sad for you that an adventure has come to an end, i am happy to be in the same house as you for a while. hope we can fit in a bit of skeeiiiiuuuttting and dancing our way thru town. xxx

Leave a Reply

