Resurrecting the Blog + Life Update

I survived the Zombie Obstacle Course – lots of mud and blood on that race!

Hi everyone!

So it’s been a while since I’ve written, but now that I’ve settled into life back in Richmond, VA, I want to get back to it.  There’s been a lot going on since I finished my USA run and since I last posted, which was when I was in Germany for the summer after finishing up the run. It turns out that keeping up with the blog is much harder than simply keeping up with running and training!

Anyway, here is a condensed update:  my boyfriend Alex made a short documentary about my run, called Street Dreams.  You can view it on youtube here.  He was with me for about 9 days out in AZ and NM, and the documentary is made entirely from the footage he got out there, minus a couple shots of me running in his hometown in Germany.  We’ve been entering the film in festivals across the world, and so far it has screened in the US, Canada, Australia, and Germany, and won awards at the NY Photo Awards and the Portland ME International Film Fest.  Go, Alex!!!  We’ve also hosted a couple fundraising screening events , continuing to raise $$ for the Boys & Girls Clubs.  Thanks to Schulte & Herr German restaurant in Portland, ME and the Meininger Hof  and K*Star in Germany for hosting the events!!!  If anyone has any suggestions for events like this in Richmond, I would love to hear them!

I spent last year in Maine with my family and Alex, and this past summer I did nothing but write and run – still working to finish a book about the USA run!!!  Going back through my writing has given me an awesome chance to get back in touch with people I stayed with and re-live the run together with them.  I honestly felt like a met a thousand new friends while on the road, and if any of you are reading this now, I would love to hear from you and hear how you are doing – it’s like I have surrogate families all across the country now, and I think of all the amazing people I met more than I think about any other aspect of the run.

I’m back in Richmond now, and in September I started writing for Ditch Magazine, an awesome new publication about outdoor adventures, travel, and curious social events.  I get to write the outdoor column, and Alex is the photographer, which means that every other weekend we head out on some fun adventure and then do a collaborative piece about it – not a bad gig!  The magazine is based out of Philly and covers the Mid-Atlantic region, so Alex and I have been making road trips all over – last week we got to do a crazy Zombie Obstacle course in MD (photo above) and the week before we were at Bridge Day Weekend in WV, where we got to hang out with a bunch of insane BASE jumpers – and now I’m pretty set on learning to BASE jump.  Check out the magazine’s FB page for photos and links to the articles!

Life is pretty good :  )   Richmond is awesome, there are many trails to be run, people to meet, and places to dance, and that’s mostly all I need in life.  I’ve got another idea brewing for the next adventure, and Alex and I just applied for a grant to help make it possible, but the details are still secret :  )   For now we will gladly accept all positive thoughts and vibes that we get the grant!!!

Ok, that’s it for now, but if you get a chance, definitely check out Ditch Magazine to take a peek at the articles and photos from our adventures so far and learn about new ones to come!!  And, to all  fellow runners and runner enthusiasts in VA who are doing the Richmond marathon next weekend, make sure to get a lot of sleep and eat well this week – it’s the most important week of training!! And good luck!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Resurrecting the Blog + Life Update”

  1. So Sparky …America’s “First Female Unsupported Transcontinental Runner” …this ” Secret” could it be the first Translunar Run ?! I remember when you were young we would talk about you being the first woman to play soccer on the moon …do you remember it , maybe that’s when you planted the seeds of adventure deep within your soul .

    Now I guess you can dream of running anywhere …or will it be flying , bungee jumping , skydiving , Everest accents , kayaking rapids , channel swimming or maybe even a quiet visit home where your favorite ” Roomies ” are waiting to share some good times with you .

    Congrats on getting the Blog up , and like you , running again !

    I’ll be checking in , so please ” write on” !!

    Big Love from your #1 Fan , Dad AKA : Big Daddy The Jog Blog Dog !

Leave a Reply

