Richmond Marathon and Orienteering

Wow well let me first just say what a perfect weekend it has been!  Sunny and seventy and a million outdoorsy things going on in Richmond.  The Richmond marathon and half marathon were on Saturday, and I had decided not to register because I wanted to save some dinero for a couple ultras this spring and I’ve already ran it a couple years ago, but I was feeling kinda blue after seeing everyone getting ready and seeing the tents go up etc.  So earlier this week I had decided to just run it without registering, sans bib, but then on Friday night I started feeling bad about that too, like I might be breaking some runner’s rule of ethics or something.

So long story short, I ended up running my own course, during which I ran around the finish line area twice, so I got to feel like I was joining in the celebration even if I didn’t have a race bib on.  And it actually was the first time in a while that I’ve ran that long, and just had the whole day to be out and not worry about getting back for anything.  It was awesome.  I did a grand tour of the river trails, hitting up the North Bank Trail, Maymont, Buttermilk, Flood Wall and Canal Walk in a big loop.  Not that I forgot it, but it reminded me how good it feels to spend the whole afternoon out on the trails, alone, away from everything,  under a picture-perfect sky.  There’s nothing like that feeling when you climb the stairs up to your house after a long run and you feel completely utterly spent and all you want to do is collapse in front of a glass of ice cold chocolate milk.

Then today I went to an orienteering meet out in Stony Point, which was also so much fun.  I’ve only gone to two orienteering events but it is my new favorite activity – I love running in any form, but having a map and compass and hunting down controls off the trail just makes running so much more fun.  It was also pretty awesome to have my friend Mussie out there with me today – Thanks Muss!  I’m aiming to enter my first adventure race in March and I’m hoping the orienteering practice now will be a huge help then.  By the way, anyone interested in pairing up or forming a team for a spring race? There’s a few good ones in WV, VA and NC that I’ve been looking at.

Hope everyone else had a good weekend, I’m happy to be back on the blog and to have heard from so many people in response to last week’s entry – it feels good to reconnect!

PS photos are from the route I ran yesterday, but were taken in September – our leaves are red and orange now!!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Richmond Marathon and Orienteering”

Leave a Reply

