Kickstarter Launch Party and Recovery

We have the details set for the Kickstarter Launch Party!!  It will be next Wednesday, April 10th, from 5:30 – 9 pm at Black Iris recording studio.  Black Iris is a very cool space right on the Art Walk on Broad Street, and we’re very lucky to have been introduced to it during the events around TEDx.  And we have AWESOME NEWS:  Eric Stanley, the violinist that broke all our hearts on the TEDx stage will be performing at the party, and Michael-Birch Pierce, the Fiber Artist from TEDx, will be there creating some very special treats for supporters.  This is looking like it will be an incredible event.  More details are here – and everyone is invited.

In other news, this week is a recovery week, which means that my mileage is down 30% from normal.  I was loving it yesterday, not minding it this morning, but by this afternoon I’m kinda feeling oddly without purpose.  This has happened before when I’m into lots of miles, and it’s really discomforting.  It’s like feeling that in 48 hours my fitness level has dropped irreversibly.  In the first month of training, it’s all about settling in with the mileage and the goals and understanding slow progress forward.  But after that, it starts to become your entire focus every single day – you wake up, look at the training log, and know exactly what you have to do for the day.  It becomes such a simple and disciplined lifestyle, with such a clear sense of daily achievement that now that I have even two days “free” (or at least less strict) from it, I’m feeling restless and itchy.  Especially with all this stuff going on, all I want to do is go run in celebration.  Maybe two easy days is recovery enough?

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

Leave a Reply

