Croissants, Run Dreams, and Workers on Strike in Brussels

My first wake up in France! Unless you count when I fell asleep in Brussels and woke up in Nice yesterday 🙂  I am so excited to be here … I just got back from a run along the water from Nice to the town of Villefranche and I had this awesome recollection of when I was working in San Remo, Italy, the summer after I finished the US run.  While I was there I ran a few mornings along a route that follows the coast for I don’t know how long, and at the time I was sorta hatching a plan to come back and run the coast of Italy for my next adventure.  I hadn’t given it much thought in the last six months, but running today just 20km up the coast from San Remo I remembered it vividly and was so happy to think that I dreamed of it two years ago and here I am doing something very similar but, in my opinion, more challenging and more interesting.  Pretty cool to be able to circle back on those crazy notions you once had and realize you’re actually standing there doing it.

I also had my first croissant of the trip this morning which is one of my favorite parts of being in France.  I’m very curious to see the kinds of food I will get to taste and how it will fuel my running.

I am staying at a friend’s apartment right in the center of Nice and his neighbor just introduced me to another neighbor, a Franco-American couple who are here on holiday for the summer and are passionate cyclists 🙂  already meeting new people!
Before we got to Nice, we had a layover in Brussels and when we arrived we discovered the luggage handlers were on strike, so our bags have not made it to Nice yet.  I am hoping they arrive soon as I have no clothes to change into after running!  Although I do have a stuck of deodorant….

That’s it for the first day!  So happy to share the journey through my blog again! 

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

7 thoughts on “Croissants, Run Dreams, and Workers on Strike in Brussels”

  1. I miss those Croissants along with a nice coffee in the morning at Le Mirador in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer 🙂 Just a little East of Marseilles. Good luck with the luggage!

  2. I’ve just discovered your blog and your adventure and I am SO excited. As a Francophile and a runner and a big T de F fan, I can’t wait to read along with you. Good luck! And please do go to Fenocchio ice-cream parlor in Nice, on Place Rosetti as it’s incredible!!!

  3. Hi Zoe, just discovered your blog and your trip this afternoon and have been avidly reading past entries between meetings the past couple hours at work 🙂 As a triathlete and (slow) distance and trail runner, so much of what you said about sports and goals really resonated with me. Best of luck with your trip – you now have one more follower!

Leave a Reply

