Last night in Nice

image

It is 9 pm and I am exhausted and ready for bed, so it must’ve been a good day!  The morning started with sun as I headed up some smaller mountains to the northwest ish of Cannes, an absolutely beautiful area, so green and vibrant.  The road itself reminded me a lot of the Blue Ridge Parkway so it was a nice touch of familiarity, but since it’s France, and the road was so winding and twisty-turny, it also felt entirely new. I attached some photos here.

image

image

As I ran I was in the constant company of cyclists, in ones and twos and threes and fours.  Speed demons, father and son duos, grandma and grandpa, and with every single one I tried to perfect my greetings and clipped vowel sounds 🙂  I am definitely comforted by the fact that the French are so used to cyclists on the roads, as parts of today’s route were a little frightening… let’s just say I definitely could not do this run with a stroller!

It is also just encouraging to see cyclists out there and understand there’s some connection between us, even if they dont know it.  I do, and it’s like a special little secret that keeps me moving.

Coming down on the other side of the mountains, I could see the Mediterranean sea again, way off in the distance, sparkling blue and reminding me of my goal to reach Marseille on Tuesday.  Nothing like the image of a perfect, brilliantly blue sea burning in the back of my mind to keep me motivated!

After, Alex and I drove back to Nice to stay one more night here, and ate giant pizzas and gulped down Perrier at the pizzeria next door.  We are sad to leave our base here in Nice but we were both talking today and realizing we are ready to move on.  Tomorrow and the next night we are staying with a couchsurfer in Marseille.

That’s all for tonight!  Time to sleeeep! And for today’s stats: 27 miles, 1800 ft ascent, 1650 descent, sunny skies.

Also, I saw a sign for the Rotary Club, which made me really excited because World Pediatric Project was originally started by a few dedicated Rotarians from the South Richmond Rotary Club.  I snapped a photo:

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Last night in Nice”

  1. Thanks for the photo. You my friend, are nuts! Look at that elevation and narrow roads. I too find peace knowing the route is cyclist friendly. Remember the 4 by 4’s in the desert of California and Arizona…I thought they were going to blow you over or run you over. Can’t wait for day three!

  2. Go Zoe

    Greetings from your new friend in Nice.

    What a day your first day was, rain relentless and no luggage. All day I was thinking about you as I heard the rain pouring down. I hope the weather cooperates better on the rest of your journey.

    As I would ride my bike in Frejus I was always conflicted with the urge to stop and take pictures. lol The red soil and clear blue sea.
    When I talk to you last I had no idea of what you were about to undertake. Your one tuff cookie! Best of luck and I can’t wait to see you when return to Nice.

    Gros Bisous

Leave a Reply

