Tired in Marseille

I am exhausted!  Had a great run today, 27 miles through Provence from Le Muy  to Brignoles.  I passed by vineyard after vineyard and Alex and I decided we have to stay at a château before this trip is done.

I was joined today by Gilles, the Dad of Fabrice, my sister’s husband.  Fab’s family is from Provence and his Dad is a runner so he ran with me all morning and it was such a special occasion just to meet him, let alone run with him!  When you have family-in-law abroad it isn’t everyday you get to spend time with them. 

Alex and I drove to Marseille after I finished running to stay with Ludovic, a Coachsurfer living in the Vieux Port.  Marseille is sprawling.  Like, gigantic. I had no idea how big it was and found out today it is the second biggest city in France.

Ludo cooked us rice simmered in water mixed with poppy flower syrup, and it was delicious, a very soft sweetness.  For dessert we had 7 different cheeses with bread and one Kinder Surprise Egg each 🙂  Ludo is, to say the least, a very thoughtful, interesting guy, and I am happy we are spending tomorrow night with him as well.  His apartment is full of homemade delicacies, he has a home bar so fully stocked that he actually printed menus for his guests, and he explained water-based physics to us using an experiment with cracked pepper, a wine cork, water, and soap.  I have a feeling he’ll be in the documentary. 

Today’s stats: 27 miles, 1700 ft ascent, 1000 ft descent, sunny skies.  And countless vineyards.
Oh I also got to go off road today on a crazy beautiful and steep private fire road…which ended up curving around thousands of rows of grapes and up and over this super steep pass with a view that made the climb more than worth it.

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Tired in Marseille”

  1. Was thinking of you this morning when I looked up in front of me to see a car with the bumper sticker, “runner girl.” All this talk of pizza, cheese, etc makes me hungry. Time for bed though. Keep strong kiddo.

  2. there you are zoe running as you said and here i am writing to you as i said… your story is getting more and more inspirational… keep running and be safe on all those roads…good luck

  3. Great blogs, take-you-there photos — the roads, the mountains, the people, the food. An incredible adventure. Don’t let Alex wear himself out trying to keep up with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

