Day 4

We started today by getting stuck in traffic just trying to get out of Marseille, which literally took us 45 minutes.  Watching traffic makes me glad I’m a runner but sad to be in the car trying to get to where I finished yesterday! 

So after starting an hour and a half later than I wanted to, I eventually calmed down and settled into the rhythm of the run.  Today’s miles were marked by the variety of roads I ran along – first was a busy trucking route, than a small road along a vineyard, than twisting cobblestone through a small village, a road climbing up past beautiful villas, then climbing down in endless switchbacks and no shoulder, before running through two more towns and ending at the base of a mountain.  Which means tomorrow should be interesting 🙂 

We got dinner in a tiny bar/restaurant on the way back where Alex pointed out I was the only girl in the whole place. Hah. After we got back to Marseille we drove around the Vieux Port, where the sun doesn’t set until 10 pm and the horizon is patterned with thousands of sailboats docked alongside restaurants.  A stunning backdrop against the architecture of all the older buildings.

Now I am all stretched, iced, fed, rehydrated, and ready for bed!

Today’s stats: 26.5 mi, 1000 ft ascent, 1500 descent, sunny and windy. Song that got me moving: “Zombie Zoo” by Tom Petty.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Day 4”

  1. Today I was thinking of you yet again. I looked down and my floss brand was “reach” and my mouth wash brand was “act.” I realized you have done just that, you have reached for your dreams and acted upon your goals. Bravo! Good luck on day 5. Oh and give Alex a big squeeze for me 😉

  2. Hey Zoe, other than the traffic it sounds like a good day! The backdrop you described sounds absolutely beautiful. Hey this week, partially during the day, Sirius radio started a Tom Petty channel. You song for the day certainly reminded me of the new channel. Have a great run tomorrow.

  3. Great job!!! Can’t imagine attempting this! Are you on schedule? How long is it taking to complete the 26+ miles per day? Do you stop for breaks along the run?

Leave a Reply

