Finished stage 1!

Super tired but here some clips from today: 

Got lost, and found; by Marseille navy officers/firemen. Ran into wild boars on the trail (top 3 most frightening moment of my life) Finished stage 1. Climbed 3500 feet, am staying with Mary, a Richmonder living in Aix-en-Provence!  And who made some delicious veggie dishes for dinner 🙂

Everyone following on FB and Twitter, I was very touched by all the responses this morning when I posted for help.  I was out in the middle of mountains without any phone credit with dozens of confusing mountain bike trail options and being scared to death by boars and it was amazing how many of you tried to help.  And even when that meant calling an international number ! 

Very glad to be sharing this with you all and truly understood today how many great people I have looking out for me. Thank you.

And thank you to the firefighters who redirected us!

Pictures tomorrow.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

8 thoughts on “Finished stage 1!”

  1. Hey Z.

    Good to hear you beat the bores, Como Siempre!

    Ah, I mean those other boars.

    Hasta manana,
    with ya,
    d.

  2. Zoe,
    I have been following you and you keep impressing me every day. I live in NH but was raised in the South of France near Marseille.
    Good luck
    Pascal

  3. your story continues to get interesting though it must have been scary for you to get lost among wild animals… take care and run safely we will be rooting for you dear..

  4. oh man…glad to hear things turned out okay. I know how you feel about dogs, so I can’t imagine how you felt about the boars. Love you tons. Can’t wait to hear about today when you are done. Love you.

Leave a Reply

