Start of week 2!

Today was a great start to the second week! I logged 29 miles from the Provence region and ran towards Montpellier, finishing up in a new region, Languedoc-Roussillon, which so far is absolutely beautiful.
The coolest part of today happened toward the end when I passed by another traveler, walking the route to Santiago de Compostela, lots of times known simply as the Camino.  He was from Milan so I got to practice my Italian which was a nice break from struggling through french pronunciation!  He had been walking 12 days and was covering the same distance I am, which is crazy as he must be walking from sun up to sun down!  We finished for the day near the same spot on the same road, so I will probably see him again tomorrow!

It was good to be back on the road after a very restful day with Mary yesterday.  Mary is a friend of a friend living in Aix en Provence and she was one of the kindest most accommodating

people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting.  We shared good conversation and good food (see photos below!) during our three days at her amazing apartment.  It was sad to say bye to her this morning!
I’m very excited to share that we’ve raised over 15,000 for World Pediatric Project! $20000 will fund an entire team of doctors to go down and do a week long clinic in one of WPPs partner countries, during which the docs will literally see hundreds of kids.  So let’s get to $20,000!  We have got a great t shirt designed for the run and when you donate $25, WPP will make sure you get a tshirt and officially become a member of the team 🙂  I’ll get a photo of the shirt up here soon, it is a great design hand drawn by my friend and local RVA artist Lauren Taylor. 

Time to sleep! Stats for today: 29 miles, 300 ft ascent (super flat!), and song that got me moving was the AMAZING song my cousin Christa wrote for me 🙂  it is awesome, I’ll have it up on Facebook soon

image

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

6 thoughts on “Start of week 2!”

  1. Daft punk…loose yourself to dance. Please listen to, dance to, and run to this for Margaret and I. It will incite a dance party in your body. Sounds like things are going well. Loved your interview. Made me very proud of you. Call us if you ever have a minute to talk. We would love to hear your voice

  2. Greetings from Home Z …where the Fam is following almost every stride…how are your running shoes holding up and blister management…muscle therapy…hamstrings…ankles. Take care and run strong! Big Daddy the one and only Jog Blog Dog !

  3. It was such a pleasure to have you both! and feed you too! do not hesitate to ask if you need to stay here again on your return south. Also if you need to mail things to me please do so! I can drive to find you or we can meet up. xoxo Mary

  4. Go Zoe go! I saw you speak at TED here in RVA – what an awesome way to raise awareness and support for the WPP! Rooting for you and super motivated by your dedication. You can do it!

    1. Oh, and Calvin Harris (Sweet Nothing), Beyonce (End of Time), and Imagine Dragons (It’s Time – Penguin Prison Remix) are hot on my current running list!

Leave a Reply

