A piece of the mountain fell

Sorry for no post yesterday, I didnt have any internet.  It is pretty spotty right now so I will write this quick before I lose the signal!

Today was a very interesting day.  we said goodbye to our host Magali this morning and headed out after a breakfast of croissants and strong coffee.  Six miles in the sky opened up and poured rain down on me until about mile 24.  A cold, windy, mountainy kind of rain ; ).

About 15 miles in I ran thru a small village and climbed up beyond the town limits and eventually onto a fire road.  A bit scared of seeing wild boars again, I was pretty cautious but was quite surprised when the road dead ended in a dilapidated french farmhouse surrounded by junked cars and various lawn assortmebts.  Then I was further surprised when a toothless french man came out from behind the shed holding an ax (he was splitting wood, but still!)
informing me that all roads out of his drive were private and I had to turn around, run back 2 miles, and connect onto a trail that climbed up and over the mountain rather than around the ridge. 

Finally getting back on track and catching up with Alex, we found ourselves on a BEAUTIFUL road whipping around the mountains and climbing up at a gentler 5% grade.  We were shocked to go for miles without seeing another car but kept assuming it was because it was a small country road.  Wrong.  A few note miles in, the road is blocked but I can continue on foot and Alex manages to sneak around the roadblock.  A hundred more meters and we stumble upon the scene in the photos below.  A GIANT rock had come dislodged, fell to the road, the road had caved under its weight, and the rock had then continued down the mountain in a path of destruction.  As my Dad put it, this wasn’t a rock that had fallen, it was a piece of the mountain that had broken off!

Never seen anything like it.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “A piece of the mountain fell”

  1. Wow, Zoe! I am so impressed. You are amazing. I talked to Dad yesterday (and the Dog). He’s pretty proud of you. Me, too! Mary, the walker. Looking forward to seeing you at home.

Leave a Reply

