Finished Stage 3!

I finished stage 3!!!  After 3 straight days of pouring rain I finished in Albi yesterday.  I somehow managed to get 30 miles in despite thinking around mile 5 that I would be lucky if I even got to 15 or 20.  I caught a nasty cold from all the rain and couldn’t sleep at all on Wednesday so I wasn’t in the best of spirits on Thursday morning.  Then I got lost, again, and the rain only got worse.  But mid run Alex brought me a thermos of hot chocolate and that turned things around for the rest of the day.  I have to say I honestly surprised even myself and realized once again that we can achieve crazy awesome things when we decide we just aren’t going to give up.  There’s always that moment too, when you realize you might actually make it, and it feels so good to finish the task and realize you’ve gotten to the very top of yourself in the process.

Needless to say, I felt like I earned my rest day today and didn’t move my legs more than 20 feet 🙂  tomorrow I start stage 4 in Castres, which will end in the Pyrenees, where all of Stage 5 will be.  I am excited because the Tour is getting closer and closer to starting and we’ve been seeing signs of it in each town recently, which makes this feel even more real.  It is also sort of cool to think I will experience the same roads these famous cyclists will and can relate a little to how they are feeling.

Photos below are from stage 3, most of it spent in a national forest type area, hilly and small mountains and, to me, very reminiscent of the Princess Bride 🙂  it was pretty neat to look back east on it yesterday and realize, hey, I just RAN across all that!

image

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Finished Stage 3!”

  1. You’re awesome! Very inspiring. Would be great if you could post short videos from your phone, like 30 seconds long. Love the pictures! Keep it up!

  2. sending you all my love and support as I do daily. Remember how many times we watched the Princess Bride? Oh man, especially on days that we were home sick from school?!

Leave a Reply

