Limoux

What an interesting day today was!  First off, we stayed with Mathieu in Toulouse last night, and he and his housemates were awesome.  They cooked an amazing meal, all vegetarian 🙂  and were just super hospitable and interesting to talk with.  Mat and his twin brother did a big long distance bike trip two years ago , on a tandem bike from Estonia to his hometown of Loudenvielle in the Pyrenees!  So he’s been thru all the similar stuff of life on the road and has been helping me to prepare since before I even arrived in France. 

Thus morning i started running in Castelnaudary, and a couple miles in I was looking at a map on my phone and walked straight into a ditch, falling directly on my knee cap.  Embarrassing and painful!  So not a great start to the day, but then the sun came out in the afternoon and I ran right through a street festival and then a woman stopped me on the road and asked if I happened to be that girl she had read about on Facebook!  That was so cool. I gotta say, Facebook earns its cred when it comes to sharing this adventure around the world!

I finished with 30 miles in Limoux, where Alex got us a night stay donated by Hotel Le Mauzac.  We just got pizza and ice cream and I am definitely ready for bed.  This week will be a very difficult one, with each day being harder than the one before it, as I head into the Pyrenees.  Both looking forward to it and kind of fearing it! ; )

By the way, if you haven’t already, check out the website!  There’s some more info and fun stuff about the run and World Pediatric Project there.  Address is WWW.zoegoesrunning.com

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

8 thoughts on “Limoux”

  1. Zoe you rock! Great job with your adventure. Remember…

    “We don’t do things because they are easy, we do them because they are hard.”

  2. hello Zoe good journey, you have the sun with you!! go go!! Claude ..(the french woman) yesterday!!

Leave a Reply

