Sun! And exciting news!

The sun came out today!  Finally! I was starting to go a little loony.  I finished my sixth stage yesterday imn Saint Malo, where there is a huuuuge castle and old city within its walls, right on the Atlantic Ocean.  Despite the rain it was absolutely beautiful, and in a weird way it made me feel closer to home, since I grew up by the ocean in Maine.  Can’t wait to jump in our Atlantic beaches with my family in August 🙂 

I also got amazing news about our fundraiser yesterday!  First of all, thank you all SO much for making donations or supporting this run in so many other ways…it couldn’t all come together without so much help from everyone. 

The restaurant called Zoe’s Kitchen has stepped up as a huge fundraising partner, doing in-store donations and promotions, and I heard from them yesterday that in their FIRST day of in-store activities, they raised over $7,000!!!  Woohoo!  That is truly amazing.  Thank you Zoe’s Kitchen!  So impressed with just the first day and can’t wait to see what we can all accomplish together.

That awesome news certainly carried me through my miles today and I ended with just over 32 miles and 2100 feet of elevation…it’s all hills, no big climbs, but I like to think it still counts!

I’m well into the stage that goes from Fougeres to Tours and will soon be headed into the Loire Valley, which I hear is dotted with gorgeous chateaus and is one of the most beautiful areas of France.  Looking forward to experiencing it one mile at a time. 

From earlier this week, in route to Saint Malo, I ran through the town of Dinan, which I’m putting on the list of favorite French places.  It is a beautiful town built entirely of stone with cute streets and row houses and a river that runs below the town and a separate little village alongside it.  And, of course, a castle!  The best part of running the Tour due France versus running across the US is that the Tour was intentionally designed to pass by the most beautiful (and most difficult!) parts of each region.  So if there is a castle in the town, you can bet the course probably goes right by it!  And I am constantly running with my head spinning round amazed at it all….every region and every department and every town has something a little different to delight me…chateaus, vineyards, stately stone homes, mountains, rivers, the ocean, the architecture, the rolling green hills, and flowers flowers flowers!  I love it 🙂 

Tomorrow is the Fete du Tour, so I should have a lot of company out on the road with me!!

And by the way, Mom and Dad, check it out below…I’m on the “Rue” home 🙂

image

image

image

If you haven’t checked out the website yet or want to make a donation and join the team (and get a sweet T-shirt designed by my friend and RVA artist Lauren Taylor) please visit WWW.zoegoesrunning.com ! Thanks!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Sun! And exciting news!”

  1. WOW Sparky, great news about Zoe’s Kitchen!! Thanks for the beautiful post…. Rosie and I will dip our toes into the Atlantic today and send a homeward (hummada hummada!) chant to you and Alex. oxox mom

  2. Holy smokes! 7,000 dollars?! That is incredible. Everything sounds so beautiful. I have to say, I’d like to visit france for sure now…minus the whole 32 mile run thing. You are nutso! I still can’t fathom what you are doing, especially when I’m huffing and puffing after six miles. You are one strong person z. Much love to you and Alex 🙂

  3. very inspirational I am a runner and have been for 30 years….I am very impressed with your dedication and your skills! way to go!!!

Leave a Reply

