Tough one

Yikes, hard day today!  I had a rest day yesterday so I was hoping I’d be all rested and ready to go today, but I was just exhausted, unmotivated, feeling blah. And it was raining again … definitely had to go through a couple self pep talks every other mile. 

Finally at the end of the day the sun came out and Alex and I found another kind couple who donated a night in their hotel in Loches…what kindness we’ve received on this trip.  It strikes me every day how lucky we are to be doing what were doing, even on these days when I think I’m going to fall asleep while running.

Thank you all for kind words on Facebook and emails etc – you better believe they help these days keep some positivity to them.  Going to sleep now and hope that tomorrow my body is a little more up for the challenge!

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

10 thoughts on “Tough one”

  1. Well Sparky you are now one day less than halfway to home!! I’m celebrating and praying tomorrow will be easier. oxox mom

  2. The day after a rest day is always hard/weird on the riders’ legs too – you’re just having the whole TdF experience. 🙂 Courage!

    ________________________________

  3. What you are doing is absolutely amazing and incredibly motivating. I have been sharing your journey with my family and friends. Someday I would like to see all of the beautiful sites that you are seeing. I love hearing about the random acts of kindness. Keep on trucking. Cathy from California.

  4. Hey, I’ve been to that castle and that restaurant!! love seeing France from your experience! sorry it was a hard day! xo

  5. Still gobsmacked by what you are doing day in day out. It is providing me with great motivation towards my first ironman later this year. This post reminded me that not every day is a great day and the measure of people is how they get through the tough ones. Keep going! Rufus

  6. Zoe, what beautiful pictures that you’ve been posting. France is absolutely beautiful this time of the year AND everyone is getting ready for the TDF, especially the towns where the Tour will be coming through. We look forward everyday to read about your incredible runs!

  7. Hey, Zoe! I’m so impressed and so proud of you! Can’t wait until ypu’re home. Well done! Mary, the walker.

Leave a Reply

