Journey to the center of France

I ran thru the center of France today!  Literally!  Midway thru my run I passed through the town of Bruere, which has the distinction of being the exact center of France.  So now I’ve run across the South, some of the north, and have cut across from the northwest corner on through to the other side…officially in the southeast quadrant now!  Or at least headed there. 

I finished my 8th stage in the city of Saint Amand Montrond, where they have decked out their roundabouts with Tour de France decorations.  Also, in France they have this thing called Ville Fleuris, and all the towns and villages and cities in France get a rating for their flower displays.  (This has been one of my favorite parts about France!) The rating is from 0 to 4 stars, and Saint Amand Montrond is the first 4 star town that I’ve seen so far!

After finishing we had an hour drive to the next stage start, and I dozed off immediately and woke up just outside the start town to discover the landscape has totally changed!  Deep, rolling hills, more trees and less fields, and mountains in the distance.  And the best part of all – the sun was shining bright!  We didn’t travel far but it feels so different here, a mix of the endless fields of north central France and the mountains further south.  Also, the sky is just different.  ouch bluer and clearer and a different depth to it that I haven’t seen in a while. 

Lastly, a couple weddings passed me and what they seem to do here is all travel to (or from?) The wedding in one giant caravan of cars, each decked out in flowers and ribbons and beeping in melody.  I love it.  Made me miss my brother and Margaret and my best friend Emily since I got to be in both of their weddings last year 🙂  

Ended the day with 33.5 miles and some frighteningly steep hills.

And our failed attempt to get a photo mid jump:

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Journey to the center of France”

Leave a Reply

