A day at the beach

Today’s run got off to a great start as I found a 5 euro note on the ground in my first few steps!  I think that’s the most I’ve ever found on one single run. My brother is always telling me to look at the ground more often cause he is always finding change, so Gabe if you’re reading, thanks for sending 5€ my way today 🙂

Despite starting under an overcast sky again, today’s run was beautiful. I ran through villages and up hills to these hilltop prairies and farms and meadows and back down and up all over again. The mountains are in eyesight now, just kind of sitting there taunting me, and I think I have one mountain pass at the end of the stage and several more serious hill climbs.

I really like this stage so far and being in the fields atop the hills reminds me so much of the beaches back in Maine where I’m from. I figured out why today – there is a steady wind blowing, and as it sweeps through the grass in the fields it sounds exactly like the wind blowing in the sand dunes at Crescent Beach in Scarborough. I’m also pretty sure the birds here are at least somewhat related to the birds that live in those sand dunes. Just in general today was one of those windy, mostly sunny but still a little cloudy, warm but with a chill, kind of days, like so many I’ve spent with my family at the beach in Maine, waiting for the clouds to pass or the wind to die down.

Whatever it is, I like it!

Finished the day with 32.5 miles and 5€ richer 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “A day at the beach”

  1. You posted some awesome pictures today Zoe. So glad to hear that today was a very nice run and you seem happy with it so that makes the rest of us content.

  2. Haha! I found a penny today…woohoo. you are spot on with the description of the grass from the sand dunes. I can hear it now. Glad to hear you are 5 euros richer and 32 miles further along in your journey. CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

