Fundraising awesomeness and suffering en route to Lyon

After finishing 33 brutally brutal miles in Lyon yesterday, I am enjoying a nice day off.  The sun is shining, which I think is the first time it s been sunny on a rest day, so I just had lunch out on the porch to refuel on my Vitamin D levels!

A few days ago Alex found me some British peanut butter (I think I might hang on yo him for a while 🙂  so I made my first peanut butter – banana – honey sandwich in so long.  So good 🙂 

I can’t believe I am in Lyon already.  I remember talking with Mary in Aix about how we would end up being pretty near to her again, and at the time it felt like so far away, and now here we are.  The last 4 stages (16 days) have gone by so fast and seemingly without too much to distinguish one day from the next. 

Also, the Alps are right around the corner, and in 4 days I’ll be heading up Mont Ventoux, (“Windy Mountain”) a 21 km climb at an average 7.5% grade.  Very interested to see how my legs handle this all the second time around – I think I spent a week just recovering from the Pyrenees.

We have some AWESOME news to share – we reached our initial fundraising goal of $100,000!  And since we hit it with a month still to go, we decided to really aim for the moon and set a new goal of $150,000!  This is incredible and i can’t say enough how thankful I am to everyone who helped us get there!  And to Zoe’s Kitchen and the customers who did a ton of fundraising in their stores!  Yahoo!  This will fund FOUR WPP mission trips and bring another 4 kids to the US for more critical surgeries.  I feel so happy to be sharing this all with everyone and wish I could say thank you in real life for everyone who has made this happen. 

I think that’s a pretty good note to end the post on 🙂 

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Fundraising awesomeness and suffering en route to Lyon”

  1. Dear Z..
    On Crescent 2 days past. Thought of you. And previous memories of France/ thoughts of Crescent / wild roses were always present. .
    ALL Best on next stage,
    xo d.
    .

  2. Zoe when you want to do something as badly as you want this thing then the whole universe conspires to help you achieve your goal .. yours is one of the greatest real life story and i wish u all the luck honey

Leave a Reply

