First day of last stage in the Alps

I started my last mountain stage today!  It started in Annecy, and I am truly in love with this region of France, called Savoie.  Annecy is absolutely beautiful, with a huge lake surrounded by mountains and a very active population.  Everyone is out biking or roller blading or running or doing water sports, it is awesome.  I really really really think I may move to Savoie at some point in my life and sooner rather than later.

I finished the day with 30 miles and am now at an incredible lakeside hotel which Sue from WPP has treated us to for the nigœt 🙂   There are a lot of people here and on the roads set up with their RVS all ready to watch the Tour.

I also wanted to send out a special thank you to Allianz Global Assistance who not only were big donors to WPP on behalf of this run but also provided us with insurance for this journey, which certainly came in handy when our luggage was delayed 4 days and we had no clothes!!!  They’ve had our backs from that crazy start all the way through to the end and it is pretty fitting that they are the sponsors for today and tomorrow, two of the toughest days of the Tour!  Thank you Allianz Global Assistance 🙂

Also, had a great podcast with Martin of Marathon Talk yesterday, should be up on their website this week for anyone who wants to give it a listen!

Tomorrow: 2 more Cols before the finale on the Semnoz on Wednesday!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “First day of last stage in the Alps”

  1. Hey Sparky …before you move ANYWHERE!! You have to come HOME for a good old visit with Mom and Dad Mom will make you pizza and I’ll make some sauce and pasta…sounds good eh ?? Only after that will we let you move to France!

    Thanks to WPP for the hotel and thanks to Allianz Global Assistance! Zoë and Alex are special to us and your kindness helps us feel better from afar.

    Run on Z…film on Alex…

  2. Zoe & Alex! I can’t believe Paris is just around the corner. It went so fast to me – watching via blog and Alex’s great videos! I’m so close but so far!!! I can’t get to Paris but so wish I could be to give you a HUGE HUG. So inspired by you both!!! Hope this last stretch is without pain or camera glitches (big drops from the car!) and filled with more lovely people to greet you and share in the amazingness of you both!!

Leave a Reply

