Paris!

Hard to believe I am just sitting down to write about Paris and I’m already off and running in Corsica.  In the past week I’ve gone from the Alps to Paris to Corsica – I don’t know if it’s my legs or my mind which is most confused!

In a word, Paris was special.  I got a call last week from my little sister with the news that she and my brother and our sister in law would be surprising me in Paris – and it was just so truly special to share that day with them in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.  Talk about being happy.  They ran the last day with me which was absolutely incredible as we passed by the Eiffel Tower, the Museum D’orsay, the Louvre, the Tuileries, the Obelisk and then finally up the Champs Elysée and onto the Arc.  I think we were all sporting huge grins for the whole run, especially Margaret 🙂  I mean, when else in my life am I going to be in PARIS, with my siblimgs, running 4 in a line like ducks down the Seine towards the Eiffel Tower, celebrating something so monumental?!  I hope it’s not never, but it could be.

We were also joined by Dustin, the manager of the Zoes Kitchen store which did the most fundraising out of all the Zoes Kitchens, which was very neat to share that moment with him as a teeny tiny thank you for all the amazing work he and his team did for us and World Pediatric Project!  To everyone at Dustin’s store: you guys are awesome 🙂

And at the finish line under the Arc we were met by Susan Rickman from WPP who gave us great big hugs and cheered us on with her friends 🙂  Like I said, just a very special day. 

The one snag was that it is illegal to film under the Arc and so the police actually ran after Alex and took his camera and deleted all the footage he shot of the final arrival under the arc.  Which I have to mentioned included some sick dance moves by yours truly.  Aw well.

The rest of the weekend Gabe and Rosa and Margaret and I did a bunch of sight seeing and popped some champagne.  On Sunday we went to the finish of the Tour and it was INCREDIBLE.  We had actually almost missed out on it for various silly reasons but I am so glad we went and made it just in time.  The cool thing was that it was crazy right around d the course, but just a little ways away the streets were still closed and they were completely empty.  No cars, no people, no noise.  I’ll never forget all of us singing In the Jungle walking down empty Parisian streets at twilight.

Now I’ve just finished my first day on Corsica where it is painfully hot.  But I like to sweat so it all works out. 

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “Paris!”

  1. Good job Zoe! I hope you can reenact your “sick dance moves” when you finish in Corsica. Would hate to miss out on that. lol

  2. What a magical day! I just stumbled upon your website and am so inspired by your journey. Keep it up! Even though its hot!

Leave a Reply

