Corsica is hot, still

I was writing a blog post in my head all day long and now somehow it is already 1130 pm and I am just sitting down to write it.  I probably sound like a broken record, but Corsica is HOT.  I couldn’t sleep last night so I got out of bed and did some reading on Corsica and its history etc.  Apparently, the French Foreign Legion used to train here.  I haven’t even gotten into the mountains yet and I can completely understand that.  The heat is maddening but worse yet is the utter lack of shade or protected tracts of land or road anywhere.  And along the coastal highways, there’s this strong scorching wind blowing dust in my already sweat-stung eyes and traffic whizzing by kicking up pebbles and little plants that prick or itch or both and are magically attracted to my socks and ankles.   I feel like I’m running through the Sahara, which us funny because if that’s how I feel now, imagine what actually running the Sahara feels like!

The good part is this: in my mind, there are two kinds of hot.  The first is the kind that’s so hot and abrupt that it makes you feel like the miles are going by excruciatingly slow and that leaves you totally lethargic and unmotivated.  And then there’s the second kind, which is the heat that is so painfully present, so smacking and utterly overwhelming that you are thinking only of how and when you will get your next drink and what kind of popsicle you will have at day’s end and not at all about accumulating miles or tracking pace. It is a heat that so strongly evokes your most basic instinct of thirst that it ends up distracting from the tedium of 32 mile days – and I will count that as a positive. 

The heat aside, it is a beautiful island and Alex and I are enjoying jumping in the sea after I finish for the day 🙂 

For anyone who hasn’t had a chance to make a donation to World Pediatric Project, please consider making one in these last days!  Any amount helps, and donations 25$ and up will receive a very cool Team t shirt 🙂 

WWW.zoegoesrunning.com

And now: sleep time!!!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Corsica is hot, still”

  1. Sounds like torture to me Sparky and sounds like maybe one of each Popsicle would be a better choice!!! Via con Dios oxox mom

Leave a Reply

