Today might have been even hotter.

Today at 5:15 pm with three miles left to run, it was a scorching 43 degrees Celsius outside.  That is 110 degrees Fahrenheit.  That is inescapable.

I finished with 32 miles and am exhausted.  For dinner I ate watermelon and popsicles and a giant serving of my new favorite and most refreshing food ever, fresh shredded carrot salad in a lemony dressing, and so many bottles of water and juice and iced tea.  I feel like I could drink and drink and drink and never catch up to my thirst before it is time to go run again!

I’m on the second stage in Corsica now, which has us cutting across the island, over the mountains, from Bastia in the northeast to Ajaccio in the southwest.  Tomorrow I have 3 climbs, all around 5 or 6 km, so I am hoping they don’t feel as hard as the Alps did.  We will see!  
Excuse the short post, but I am beat!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Today might have been even hotter.”

  1. It’s absolutely incredible that you could do 32 miles in that kind of heat. I cannot even imagine that, when I train and do my little 6-8 mile runs. YOU truly are an inspiration to us all Zoe. Finish strong and as always GO SPIDERS!

  2. Dear Sparky Il’ll be wearing my ZGR Tshirt all week & encouraging anyone who hasn’t yet made a donation to WPP that now is a perfect time to show their support and help you to the finish! Be safe Big mama love oxoxo

  3. You continue showing us that accomplishing a goal can be achieved when you don’t let anything stand in the way — when the goal itself is more imporant than any challenges that arise.

    A friend of mine battling cancer kept this motto on her Caring Bridge site, in her car , her bathroom mirror and in her hospital room for all the doctors, nurses and her surgeons to see: FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION. (She’s cancer-free for over a year now.)

    Sounds like you are running by these words, too, Zoe!

  4. Hi Zoe!
    That heat sounds so oppressive. You write so well I can feel it! I hope you had a good I hope your run today went great. Next time we see each other let’s have that carrot salad.
    Keep running strong…big love — UM

Leave a Reply

